I made my goodbyes to Maggie, Henry and England and took the overnight coach, via ferry, to the Netherlands. One of my closest friends lives in the Netherlands and I was excited to see him and looking forward to meeting his new girlfriend. The first evening I met his new girl and she is adorable. I hope that I get to know her better over the next few weeks I will be spending in the area.

The three of us went to the Floriade World Horticultural Expo. This special expo happens once every 10 years in the Netherlands and I am very glad I got to experience it; and better yet with pleasant company. Being as it was an "expo" there were some very commercial pavilions - what expo doesn't. There were many interesting things through out the grounds and I found a lot of "living" (flora) inspiration for my feng shui practice. I really enjoyed my time wandering through the various gardens and exhibits.

On Tuesday my friend and I explored the Kinderdijk Mills. Currently 19 windmills stand ready to pump water to higher ground. Over the years the Dutch have mastered the battle against the water and the information at this UNESCO World Heritage site is very informative. Through modernization, the mills are not used for everyday use; however they are all functional and can be put to use if the current system fails or becomes strained - though I don't think they could actually handle the capacity needed for an extended period of time.
The remainder of the week I explored on my own, relaxed, and caught up on my blog. It doesn't make for exciting travel content, that's for sure.

On Saturday I got to enjoy my friend's son's football (soccer) game and enjoyed witnessing their first win of the season 5 - 3. As I enjoyed the game, not being able to say much for encouragement as my Dutch is limited, I reminisced about the sports my children participated in. A parent's enthusiasm and encouragement of their child knows no cultural borders and the time spent at the field was exciting.

That night I had to head to the server farewell party of a game I play. It was good to talk to my gamer friends as we shot off fireworks and discussed our plans on the new merged server. I anxiously await the opening of the merged server and can't wait to see my friends on the otherside. I know I will not be playing with them for another 10 or so months, but it was great to chat with them for the few hours and look forward to building my "Reckless" avatar upon my return (starting her over from level 1).

The next day the three of us ventured to Apenhuel. Apenhuel is a zoo dedicated to apes. Many of the primates roam freely and you can get quite close. Usually when you think of monkeys and apes in a zoo they are confined to a small area in the park. This park was as large, if not a bit larger, than some of the larger zoos I have been to. The habitats were amazing and I found myself looking behind the scenes to see how they managed to keep them all enclosed in the park. Great day at the zoo!

Netherland Photos Here
I have always found it hard to share of myself with others and there are times that I have shared more and less through these posts. Today I was inspired by an acquaintance who recorded one of my favorite songs, "Your are my Sunshine." The song was done wonderfully in a country style and his voice and timbre was a melding of Bob Dylan and Johnny Cash. He removed his FB post too soon as his self doubt crept in, an artists/creators common demon, before I could post a reply to his comment of my comment. We then private messaged back and forth a bit. I understand his trepidation at giving of himself and not sure of how it will be received nor if it should be received. I encourage him to continue doing what he is doing, not just for my selfish reason of being touched by his musical gift, but for his growth as a person and artist.

So now, I take my own advice. At least for today I give a bit more of myself than I usually would, not because I think what I have to say has any value in and of itself, but because it might have value to someone to know that there is another that fights similar struggles as they do.

This week was full of the ups and downs of emotional detoxing. The build up of needed emotional release over the past 2 months, the disappointment and joy in relationship changes, the exhilaration of completing the first part of my journey, the fear of the upcoming portions, the feeling of internal isolation, the feeling of bare emotional exposure, and so much more all accumulated into one ball of confusion. The need for release was overwhelming and I found myself wishing for a shoulder to cry on but afraid to ask for it. I considered going back to the US while I still had the money to "start over" properly and the regrets I would harbor if I did. I contacted friends and family via FB, Skype or e-mail to purge the feeling of isolation. I took long hot showers to pull the ever flowing tears from my eyes. I lay awake at night wishing there was someone that really understood me and how I ticked and that they were nearby to share my fears and doubts while not casting judgement on my fleeting, flittering thoughts. I walked and infused my senses at the beauty of the changing Autumn colors. I sat and contemplated my relationships and interactions with others. I planned, organized, and anguished over the next steps to my journey. So here I am regurgitating those feelings and find that they are not as profound as they were last week. Their bite has subsided to a mere throb, perhaps they will be but a fading bruise by the next week. I now find the strength I need to continue, no longer paralyzed by the overwhelming sense of emotional feeling, y I feel the fear of self doubt coursing through my head as I publish this post. I overcome and I grow as a person and creator. Thank you Jay.

P.S You might have noticed, but if not, I have added links to past posts to the respective photo album.
Shawn
10/3/2012 12:57:02 am

You go sis!

Reply
Lisa
10/3/2012 02:40:43 am

Thanks, Sis!

Reply
Julia
10/8/2012 01:29:41 am

Good for you!

Reply



Leave a Reply.