The sailing course over, we all left Cowes together on the ferry to South Hampton. Vicky and I sad our goodbyes to the sisters from Ireland as they headed to the airport and she and I caught the shuttle to the train. Vicky and I traveled together towards London and we parted our separate ways. The final parting from my week of sailing left me feeling a bit empty; however, I was heading to the home of a friend of my sister and mother, so all would be well.

I made my way by tube and bus to Maggie and Henry's (the dog) home and my home for a week. Maggie insisted on feeding me well and took me around to the nearby sights and was a great host. Maggie and Henry do a bit of volunteer work for the Pets As Therapy organization and visit various adult care homes and schools as part of their commitment. Maggie also helps organize Help for Heros, which helps various other organizations that assist injured veterans. Quite a full plate for this retired police inspector.
Picture
Henry enjoying playing in the Thames.
Since I had been to London, albeit briefly, before, there were a few things I did not need to "see" on this trip and it was wonderful that Maggie took me around to some sights I might not have seen at all.

Our first day out included a boot sale (sort of like a flea market) and a visit to Syon House and Garden. There was a special photo opp for Henry at the Garden Center and so I left Maggie and Henry as I went to explore the house and gardens. The house is used by the current Duke of Northumberland and I had previously visited Alnwick Castle, which is another residence of the Duke. Alnwick Castle is a location where the learning to fly and the learning about quidditch scenes of Harry Potter were filmed (I know I forgot to tell you about my journey there in the previous Edinburgh post. I also went to the Rosslyn Chapel, made more noticeably famous by the author Dan Brown. I would recommend taking a look at both places). Near the very end of the house tour, a guide came up to me and started telling me all bits of interesting tidbits about the house and showed me into some closed off rooms. Yahoo for the special insider tour, wish I would have had that guy with me the entire time!

The next day Maggie and I headed to Windsor. Again, I left Maggie while I went to explore the castle. WOW! best describes the grounds and the castle. There was so much to see from the dollhouse, which even had working plumbing, to the cathedral. The guided audio tour was very informative and each room had a person available to answer any questions. After my tour, Maggie and I enjoyed some Starbucks before heading back home.

The next day I headed out on my own to the Harry Potter Studio Tour. Ok, maybe you have figured out by now that I like Harry Potter. If not, it should be clear to you now. The studio tour was fantastic! It was great to see some of the sets and props that were made for the movies. It did take me a bit to get used to a pleasant Draco's voice fort the audio tour. If you are a Harry Potter fan, the tour is a must see/do thing. Unfortunately my camera had taken a dive to the ground a few days before and though I could use it, when I had to change the battery, I could no longer turn off the flash and oooh, I hate the flash. Luckily it had lasted most of the tour, but still was irritating to be flashing about the place at the end.
Not yet done with the London area, the next day I headed on my own for the city center. I enjoyed taking the tube and walking around the city. I spent a bit of time at the Globe Theater and walked to the Tower Bridge (passing the London Bridge) and experienced the London Dungeon, which was a bit of history with a lot of special effects and theatrical bits (nowhere near Halloween Horror Nights but still fun).

On Thursday my host took me around to some memorials and in the afternoon I treated her to Mamma Mia on the stage. We enjoyed the show and were dancing and singing in our seats. I know she really liked it because she had a huge grin in her face the entire time.

Friday was my last day in London and I made my final stops to Westminster Abbey, Big Ben, Parliament, the London Eye, and Buckingham Palace before I caught my bus that evening.

London Photos Here
Harry Potter Tours Photos Here
The first part of my trip done, I now prepare to head to the "mainland" of Europe. I find myself not quite ready to tackle language barriers that I know will come. I also am a bit homesick, which I find strange because I am not the type that usually gets homesick. When I was a little girl I was the one that hated to go home and always wanted to stay longer, so it is a different feeling for me (it even took my sister's help to recognize what I was feeling). I also now need to make decisions on the route I will take through Europe and need to get a good center before getting organized.
Julie
10/1/2012 02:29:18 pm

Awww... Henry is so cute even when he is soaking wet. I would have loved to have seen all the sites in London.... love the pics! You look energized on the sailboat! Stay safe..

Reply
Lisa
10/3/2012 02:41:20 am

Yep, he is a cutie and very sweet.

Reply
Maggie
10/11/2012 11:37:40 pm

Love the photo of Henry, also rwading all your news. Hope the wrist is getting better and does not spoil your trip

Reply
Lisa
10/12/2012 04:19:27 am

@Maggie: Thanks. I thought you might like that pic. Hehe

Reply



Leave a Reply.