It's hard to believe that another week has passed. After hitting the "big" tourist towns, and having been to Ireland 28 years ago and seeing most of the "must see" sights already, I decided to make my way to smaller towns. From Kilarney I headed to Dingle. Dingle is a small seaside village that has wonderful little shops and a great atmosphere. One can catch boat tours and if in auto there are a few historical things to see but not really within walking distance. There is also a nice aquarium.

Since it was a rainy, blustery day while I was in Dingle, I opted for the aquarium. The aquarium itself is not large, but better than the National Aquarium in DC (for those who have been there); however, in the penguin area they have a documentary showing about the illfated Shakelford expidition to the Antartic in 1914. This film is about an hour or so long but well worth the watch. The film was actually taken during the expidition and it is silent with information boards setting the scenes. If you think about it, just having the footage itself is amazing, much less what these men and dogs went through for over a year. In the end the men had to survive on the dogs (though they really did not explain this in the documentary I did go through a museum in the next town that expanded my knowledge of the story) only a handful of men did not. The story is beyond inspirational about the fortitude of man. I think it is also telling about Shackelford himself that he mounted another expidition a few years later.

From Dingle I headed to Tralee, another smaller town (about the size of Manhattan, KS). Tralee is famous for the Rose of Tralee pageant. To participate in the pageant the women do not have to be Irish citizens, just direct decendents from Ireland (no more than 3 generations) and so women from all over the world come to particpate. The pageant is heald in August of each year and the town was busy making preparations. The main streets were decorated with lights and the storefronts were being decorated for the big event of the year.

It was in Tralee that I learned more about the Shackelford expiditions as well as a local lad who went on 3 expiditions with Shackelford but quit after the illfated voyage of the Endurance. I found this man's story just as interesting and read all the information available in the exhibit. This museum also had a wonderful Middle Ages Tralee exhibit in which they recreated a small portion of the town in a unique walk through diorama. It was a very fascinating exhibit as well.

Tralee also has a wonderful park with beautiful rose gardens (imagine that) as well as a Dutch Windmill. Other than a few churches there is not too much to explore in this quaint little town.

Next stop was Ennis. Ennis is steep in history and a charming town. By foot the town is easily toured in a day, including the Statue/River walk. There are many pubs that have traditional music at night as well. I would recommend to anyone going to also take a tour of Bunratty Castle, as I had done this in the past, I did not opt to retake the tour.

From Ennis I headed back to Dublin via Galway and wrapped up my Ireland tour and prepared to head to Northern Ireland.

Dingle Peninsula Photos Here
Ennis Pictures Here
I no longer have the uneasy feelings about where I am going, how I am going to get there and where I will be staying that I had the first week. I seem to becoming settled into this day by day existance I have choosen. I do find myself floundering a bit on a project I wanted to work on and I am finding that a bit frustrating. I feel I need to find a focal point to concentrate from and will work on my brainstorming to help clarify the direction I need to go.
Roxy
8/7/2012 10:39:19 am

I think Shackelford exemplifies the saying "If at first you don't succeed, try again." We could all take the lesson to be so adamant.

Reply
Geoff & Brenda
8/7/2012 11:46:03 am

When you have a chance, can you write about how you are getting from Point A to B and also what your sleeping accomodations are like? Also, please talk about food - one of our favorite things!! We are loving your blog...

Reply
Mom
8/7/2012 05:39:51 pm

Not only that but also how one can overcome seemingly unsurmountable odds of survival.

Reply
Lisa
8/7/2012 05:54:22 pm

For the majority of my trip so far, I have relied on the public transportation systems (bus and train). The Ireland bus system is fairly easy to use once you find the route(s) you need you wait at a stop for that route and flag the bus down as it is coming. You can pay as you walk on the bus or you can get passes (day, multi day, etc) depending on your needs. The downside is that you need to be a bit familiar with the location you need get off at as the stops are not announced and if someone doesn't push the bell, the driver will pass on by.

I have only used the train system in Northern Ireland so far and once you purchase the ticket you get onboard and stops are announced as you approach.

Other than that, I mainly walk as most city centers are concentrated and the smaller towns are easy to traverse by foot. There are also usually taxis if you just need a lift.

on the food front, I usually go to the grocery and purchase foods for most of my meals. I do eat out every once in a while. I also have been staying at Couch Surfing hosts and friend's home. The home made meals are the best!

My accommodations are made through the Couch Surfing network, my network of friends and family, and hostels or B&Bs. The hostels are a dorm like setting but are a great way to meet other travelers and sometimes you run into them repeatedly on your journey. Staying with locals is a good way to see how people live and how they spend their time. The B&Bs are a special treat of a private room and bath all to your own and make me feel like I am a queen. The thing to get to used to in Europe is that they usually do not use a top sheet on their beds as the duvet acts in that purpose.

Reply
Senny
8/29/2012 12:39:57 am

I am so glad you gave me your blog. I am enjoying it so much. makes me want to get on the road again. I have done 3 trips to the UK, Scotland and France. Think it is time again.
Keep posting enjoying ever moment.

Reply



Leave a Reply.