Rings Around Ireland
After leaving Dublin I took the bus to Kilkenny. Kilkenny is a small town that is very inviting to all who visit. A cute little village that has a wonderful park with nature trails around the castle. The town has many pubs, a very old catherdral and a newer one that are both great to walk through. The organ alone at St. Mary's is worth the walk through. As it happened, on the first day I wandered the streets there was a farmers' market with loads of fresh veggies and other various yummies. If you find yourself in Kilkenny you must visit the Kyteler's Inn. This in is named after a 14th-century witch that once lived in the building. At this inn you can listen to traditional Irish music and watch traditional Irish dance (think Lord of the Dance but much smaller).

While in Kilkenny I met Anna and Alex, two Canadian ladies exploring the Emerald Isle by rental car. As it happened, they were going in a similar direction as me and I hitched a ride with them for the next 2 days. I was in awe of Anna's bravery of driving on the other side of the road on some very narrow road ways. By riding with them I got to see a few places I would not have had a chance to see sans car. From Kilkenny we made our scenic way to Cork with a few stops at the Rock of Cashel and Cashir Castle. Cashir Castle was a great castle to stop at and explore. You can enter most of the entry ways and climb the stairs to the tops of towers and into the depths. We stayed for a night in Cork and watched the opening ceremony to the Olympics (5 rings). The following day we made our way to Killarney via Blarney Castle and Kinsale.

Blarney Castle, the home of the world reknown Blarney Stone. Since I had been to the stone before, I bypassed the line for that and explored the grounds. There are many things that I was not even aware were there on our previous visit (perhaps they weren't not sure). The paths lead through various gardens, the house, and the Rock Close. The trails through the Rock Close were the highlight for me. This area was beautiful and included walks through yew trees and limstone formations. Ancient Druid Rings could be found and if I was not mistaken, I even saw a fairy ring in the Fairy Glade.

Kinsale is a marvelous little bay town that should not be missed, The shop lined streets that lead to the bay are wonderful. We used our heritage passes (pass used for heritage sites) to tour the Charles Fort. This fort is start shaped and has great views of the ocean and the town. While in Kinsale we also toured Desmond Castle, which is also known as the "French Prison."

The following day my new found friends were heading to drive the Ring of Kerry and the next day the Ring of Dingle. As I had been on both of the rings in the past, I opted to explore the Killarney area on my own. I wandered through the Killarney National Park to the Ross Castle on my first day and then enjoyed a circular walk to the lake shore through a golf course. I will put on my "hiking" list for the future the Kerry Walk, which is a 9 (or so) day walking "Ring of Kerry" tour.

Kilkenny Photos Here
Rock of Cashel & Cashir Castle Photos Here
Blarney Castle Photos Here
Kinsale Photos Here
Ring Around My Head
It's hard to believe that week one has completed. The first few stops/days I was a bit stressed about being "spontaneous" and not sure exactly what that means or what to expect. Being the ultimate planner, it was very stressful at first to not have a detailed itinerary; however, this has allowed me to take advantage of opportunities that I would not have had. I know I am not into the full swing of it yet, but I feel I am getting into a "routine," if you can call it that, that is comfortable for me. I do not stress on the detailed things/arrangements and once I decide what I am going to do next, I make the arrangements (sleeping) for that next stop.

Ring From the Past
Sitting in the backseat of the rental car, enjoying the fantastic views, I gazed at the beautiful blue sky, much like the clear blue one would see in the Kansas sky, and it made me think of a kind comment my ex once made to me about the color of my eyes being like the Dakota skies. I recall that being the most romantic thing he ever said to me and I wondered what could have moved him to say such a thing to me at that time. It was at that time in our relationship that we had came to a "T" intersection and one of us went one way and the other in the opposite direction. As our paths diverted further and further away, it was evident that the roads we took would not meet up again.

Though I miss our friendship and the comfort we had in most of our relationship, I do not regret taking the course I did and I don't believe he would have liked the route I have taken. The few times we both tried to take the others path was not comfoortable to either of us. The walk together for 14 years was good and the companionship offered along that path is greatly appreciated. Like all the fellow travellers I meet on my trails I wish the best of journies to him and take the next step along my path.
Julie C.
7/30/2012 03:50:06 pm

Glad you are getting in your groove....love the scenery!

Reply
azad
7/31/2012 12:31:11 am

you getting closer im just north of belfast little place called carrickfergus :)

Reply
Lisa D Fanshier
7/31/2012 03:59:29 am

It won't be too much longer and I will be crashing on your couch Azad.

Reply
Chino
7/31/2012 06:51:13 am

That looks like a tasty glass of Guiness Stout next to the guitar player. Do they actually drink Guiness in Ireland or is that an "American marketing ploy". :)

Love your thoughts and pics. Keep enjoying your journey!

Reply
Lisa D Fanshier
8/1/2012 06:27:19 pm

Guinness seems to be popular with the locals as well as other Irish brews.

Thought of you (and my other golfer friends and family) while hiking through a gold course near the lower lake of Killarney. Beautiful course along the lake shore.

Reply
Lisa D Fanshier
8/1/2012 06:28:27 pm

*golf

Ron
8/6/2012 11:06:09 am

It's great to hear how you are enjoying and adjusting to this new experience, and the lessons you are sharing that will no doubt encourage those who read your words. :)

Reply
Lisa
8/7/2012 05:35:10 pm

Thanks Ron! I can only hope to be half as inspirational as you are. :)

Reply



Leave a Reply.