I left my daughter's on Tuesday and headed to Council Grove, KS to see the museums and historical sites (23) in this small Kansas town. Boy was I disappointed when nothing was open on Tuesday. I drove around town and saw the sites that were accessable and then made my way towards Topeka via the Skyline Mill Creek Scenic Route (which is old hwy K10). While in Topeka I tried to catch up with my friend but it just didn't happen. Hopefully the next time I come through we can get together. Since I had no luck reaching/finding her, I went on down the road and stopped in Atchison, KS for the night. As I arrived into town I stopped at the Santa Fe Depot (Visitor's Center & Museum) and found out a lot of information about the railroad and its importance to the town of Atchison.

After spending the night, I explored this little historic town. Many of the places were closed but the Amelia Earhart Birthplace Museum was open for business. The house was built by AE's grandfather in 1861 (original portion) and she grew up in the house. AE was a woman of spirit and a true adventurer. I also realized that she and my youngest son share a birthday. There are many wonderful historic homes to see in this town and if you happen to be going in that direction, it is well worth the time to explore.

While at the AE Museum, I met a couple from St. Joseph, MO. Since I was heading that direction, I asked them what, if anything, I should stop and see in St. Jo, or just pass it by. They recommended that I go to the Pony Express Museum and the Patee House Museum. The Patee was closed (only open on weekends during the winter) but you can take a picture of the place Jesse James was shot and killed, just behind the Patee House. Down the street from there is the Pony Express Museum. This museum is great and gives not only the history of the short lived Pony Express, but also information about frontier life. I didn't realize that the Pony Express only ran for 18 months before the transcontinental telegraph line was completed. There is a lot more you can see in St. Jo (Glore Psychiatric Museum sounded interesting), but since I had purchased a Route 36 CD, I was itchin' to get on the road to see what other things I could find along the way to Hannibal, MO.
Along Route 36 in Missouri one can find the town where sliced bread was invented, the childhood town of Walt Disney, a covered bridge and a giant flying goose (among some other facinating trivia). The CD, which I purchased for $6.00 was a wealth of information of historic areas one can travel too off of Route 36. At the end of my days journey I arrived at Hannibal and tucked in at a hotel that overlooked the Mississippi River.

Hannibal, MO is the home town of Samuel Clemens, a.k.a. Mark Twain. Even in winter, this historic town has enough to do to fill an entire day. I explored the Mark Twain Boyhood Home & Museum, which included the homes and information about the people that inspired stories we all love to read. I even got a personalized tour of the cave that Tom and Becky got lost in. After I got my fill of Mark Twain I went to the birthplace of the "Unsinkable" Molly Brown (closed for the winter) and drove around Hannibal to see the wonderful houses and imagine life as it might have been during its hayday. Since my day was filled with Hannibal attractions, I spent another night along the mighty Mississip.

I woke up early and headed out of Hannibal along the Great River Road towards St Louis. Though a bit windy, this road was awesome and offered some wonderful views of the Mississippi as well as some great little towns along the way. I stopped in Clarksville to see the glassworks, but since they had so many kids coming that day (Eagle watching weekend) I did not get to view the artisians at work. I did however, explore the little town and found some wonderful shops. Once I made it to St. Louis, I stopped to see the Gateway Arch and get a Hard Rock pin for my collection. As many times as I had been through St. Louis (many, many, many), I had never taken the time to stop at the arch. I was glad I finally got to stop at this American icon. From the Arch, I jumped back on the road and caught the Great River Road in Illinoise (just across the river from St. Louis) and continued this wonderful, scenic journey following the Mississippi River. Driving along, enjoying the trip, I saw a sign that indicated the home of Popeye is ahead. Sounding intersting, I took a side trip into the little town of Chester, IL. Chester is where the cartoonist, Elzie Crisler Segar, was born and raised and where he got the inspiration for his characters of the famous cartoon family (as a side note for my comic friends - Metropolis, IL is where Superman was inspired). After stopping at the Spinach Can (museum & collectibles) I drove around Chester taking pictures of the various character statues. Chester was a great find along the way. If you happen to be in that area the weekend after Labor Day there is an annual Popeye's Picnic (3-day) event that sounds too good to miss! In the later afternoon I made my way to Cairo, IL and found a place to stop for the night.
After driving around Cairo and checking out the famous houses and places there, I crossed the Ohio River (convergence of the Ohio into the Mississippi) and entered the Bluegrass state of Kentucky. I stopped to take a few pictures at the site of Fort Jefferson which overlooks the Mississippi and now has a memorial cross there. My next intended stop at the Wickliffe Mounds was closed, so I kept on trucking into Tennessee. After I passed through Jackson, TN I found out that there was a Casey Jones Museum and I was a bit bummed that I had unknowingly passed it by. I found this out while I was at the Pinson Mounds outside of Jackson. The mound complex was large and I made the suggestion that the museum rent out bikes for those that don't want to walk 5 miles to see the entire complex. After eating my lunch I continued my southerly path into the northeastern corner of Mississippi and headed east into Alabama. I stopped at the AL Music Hall of Fame; however, it too was closed and so I found a room for the night in nearby Tuscumbia.

I knew not much would be open on Sunday and took a scenic route through the Appalachian Mountains in AL and made my way to Phenix City. Fort Mitchell was open and since I had arrived in the mid afternoon I took my time learning about the history of the area and more information about the Federal Road (had learned quite a bit from the volunteer at the Locust Stand on the Natchez Trace).
This week has been full of discovery in history and in the project I have been working on for the last year. The project had basically stalled and I was not sure which direction I was going to take with it and I had thought perhaps it had fizzled out. I struggled with how I wanted to approach it and how I wanted it to progress and could never get a real clear picture of exactly how it was to evolve. This week I gained much clarity and I have started to take detailed notes and putting things together. There are times I find I have to stop and write things down, least I forget them later - I now always keep my notebook on hand. I hope this momentum continues so that I can share it with you all soon.
Julie
2/7/2013 11:39:58 am

Lisa, I'm glad to hear you are seeing so many things. Wish we had had more time in Jxn. Godspeed....

Reply



Leave a Reply.