Preparations for the road trip included securing a rental car, sealing and waterproofing the tent, packing my bags and determining a general route to travel. My sister loaded me up with some extra supplies and an atlas, Bronnie took over navigator duties and I as on my way.

I left from my sister's house and took the coastal highway to West Palm beach. Though it was a bit slow going, the coastal views were very enjoyable. I got to see the toursit side of the Florida east coast. From West Palm I cut west toward Lake Okechobee and made my way to Sebring. Not enitrely sure of the rules and regs of the FL state parks, I arrived around 4:00 at the Highlands Hammock State Park. I opted for a primitive campsite and was the lone camper in the area. The spanish moss hung loosely among the brances of the trees and it was a very peaceful location.The next morning I hiked around the park on some of the trails that were available. Some of the paths were via catwalks through the swamp. For the first time ever, I got to see the fish that spit water to catch

The next morning I hiked around the park on some of the trails that were available. Some of the paths were via catwalks through the swamp. For the first time ever, I got to see the fish that spit water to catch bugs. One of the volunteers told me that the otters come to that area but they were not there on that day. I also got to see a lot of birds and a few snakes. I traveled to my mothers for the next two nights.
I left my mom's around 9:00 and made my way to the Crystal River Wildlife Sanctuary. There is not much to see at the sanctuary, but they had a lot of information about local things to see and do. I was directed to the Homosassa Spring Wildlife State Park. This park showcased Florida wildlife and included a boat ride to get there from the visitor center. I did find out later that you could drive to the park or take a tram, but the boat trip was nice and relaxing. There were many animals and birds. From the underwater observatory one can see where the spring cames through the aquifer. The spring water remains at 72*F and this is one of the winter locations for manatee. The manatee had not yet arrived for the winter yet but the snook were there by the hundreds. I took the boat ride back to the visitor center and drove to the Crystal River Archaelogical State Park. This archaeological park is a pre-Columbian indian mound complex. I would have liked to learn more than what I did as I had missed the bout tour by 10 minutes and the days they do the boat tour the museum is closed. After wandering around the mounds I headed to my campsite for the night at Manatee Springs State Park. There are quite a few trails around the park but I did not have time to walk any of them.

The next morning I woke up to a small herd of deer eating their breakfast next to my tent. It had rained a bit in the night and there were no leaks to be found. I made a sidetrip to St. Marks National Wildlife Refuge and lighthouse. The area was all marsh or swamp and is on the Gulf of Mexico coast. I saw a huge gator and many birds. There are a lot of dike trails but I only went a short way on the one by the lighthouse as I still had a bit of driving to make it to my location for the night. I spent the night at the Fred Gannon Rocky Bayou State Park. My campsite faced the bayou and I was surprised that this park was just off the highway. Unfortunately, the newly sealed tent seams did not perform well under the downpour that occured and since the dripping was directly in the middle of the tent, I quickly relocated to the back seat of the rental car.

After my scrunched up night in the car I drove to my weekend location of Jackson, MS. I intended to visit friends and relatives in the Jackson area over the weekend. So far I have avoided any interstate driving; however, to navigate around Mobile, AL, I would have to drive 100 miles on I-10. With Mobile behind me it was only a few hours left until I would get to talk to those I had left only 6 months ago.
My first week on the road has been very relaxing and enjoyable. It is nice to take the slow lane (not driving on the interstates/motorways) and stopping at the sites along the way. It was strange returning to Mississippi. On one hand it was exciting to see my friends and family. On the other hand I found it hard to believe that I had lived there for 16 years.

As I traveled I didn't think that I had really changed, internallly I thought I felt the same. Going back to MS and hanging out with everyone, I realized that I had changed. It is a subtle change and at this time I cannot put my exact finger on it but I do know for sure that I am not the same person I was 6 months ago.
Ronen
1/20/2013 06:04:30 am

That's awesome Lisa! Glad you got to visit some of the places I camped in Florida. :)

Reply



Leave a Reply.