Back at my friends in the Netherlands I researched the various options and costs involved to return back to the US and found that it cost about the same to take a transatlantic cruise back as it did to fly (was actually cheaper than a one way airline ticket). I booked a last minute cruise deal on Saturday to leave out of Barcelona on Tuesday for a two week crossing. I would be back in the US the day before Thanksgiving and spend the holidays with my family.

The two week cruise was a nice way to return back to the US. I love the slow pace and I found it fairly relaxing. I met a lot of people, made a few new friends, read a lot of books, and played games and trivia - I even won a few. I would not normally enjoy this type of cruise as there are many sea days; however, for this journey it was a perfect way to return to the states. We did have a couple of ports of call but beyond just getting off the ship and checking out the towns by foot, I did not do any special excursions.
My sister picked me up from the Miami port and we surprised our mother with my arrival. It was a nice Thanksgiving surprise and we had an enjoyable dinner out on Thursday. We made the holiday calls and I got to also surprised the remainder of my family.



Leave a Reply.