In March I began walking during my lunch breaks to start training for my annual hike. I know that I can never be prepared for hiking in the mountains, but I know that doing some type of training is 1000 times better than no training. In the past few weeks I have started adding a section of stairs into my walking routine and have set a "schedule" of training through June. The days are getting hotter and more humid; good for me to get "acclimated" to what I might experience during our hike or at least that is what I tell myself.  There is nothing that can completely prepare me for the "trail" and each year I struggle and each year I vow to never return, that this year is my last, yet each year I return, the prodigal daughter to the woods.

The annual hiking trip is my annual detox. The 10 days out of the year that I let go of the last years accumulation of people, technology, responsibilities, life. The 10 days that I face my fears, my limitations, my strength, myself. The 10 days that keep me centered. The 10 days that give me a glimpse into my place in the Universe. The 10 days that will begin my year long journey. 
Ryder
5/7/2012 07:36:34 am

I would love to see some photos of your previous trips.

Reply
Lisa
5/7/2012 08:39:24 am

I will see what I can do Ryder.

Reply
Shawn
5/7/2012 11:26:43 pm

Sis, I am so proud and honored to be your traveling companion on the first part of your journey. I can not wait to see/read your journey as it progresses... You go sis!!!

Reply
Mom
5/10/2012 10:52:43 pm

Your sister and Jules are visiting this weekend. Today Shawn went out for her prepatory trail walk. You'll both be in great shape.

Reply
Lisa
5/11/2012 03:19:59 am

Not sure how great shape I will be in... Shawn can sit out a few weeks to even out the playing field :P.. Can't wait Sis!

Reply



Leave a Reply.