This week I made my way via train to Northern Ireland. I stayed the week at a friend's home in the lovely town of Carrickfergus. Carrickfergus has a great castle in the center of town and I toured it with my hosts. Using Carrickfergus as a base I explored the Coastal Road and Belfast.

The Coasta Road is a beautiful drive (though I rode by bus). Along this route I crossed the Carrick-a-Rede Rop Bridge; I know it is hard to believe, but I really did cross it twice! The views were wonderful. After the bridge we then headed to the Giant's Causeway. According to legend, the causeway was made as a road by one giant to get to the other giant in Scotland (same rock formations across the channel in Scotland). The formations are very cool to see and again the views were marvelous.

I spent 3 days touring around Belfast. I could have crammed it into 2 but it was not necessary for my schedule. Again, like in Dublin, I first explored with the hop-on-hop-off bus on the first day. The second day I toured the Titanic Experience which is a great exhibit with many interactive features; it even includes a ride! Since it is August I was able to tour Stormont, the parlimental house. As I was a bit tight on time I did not opt for the tour; however, a friendly guard gave me a personal tour and I got to see more than the official tour people did. :) The next day I went to the botanical gardens and through the Ulster Museum.

Carrickfergus Photos Here
Belfast Photos Here

I was surprised how different but yet the same I find Northern Ireland to Ireland. Northern Ireland is part of the United Kingdom and therefore I expected differences in mainly the monetary system. I was a bit surprised that the accent was different. I was not sure what I would find regarding the history and though both Ireland and Northern Ireland share a similar history, one can vastly see the different perspectives on how it is presented in each country. I found people friendly and helpful in both and would recommend anyone planning to come to the Emerald Isle to explore both countries.

For my food followers (you know who you are), as I stayed at a friend's home, I think I had some traditional meals. Each evening supper consisted of a meat, veggies and potatoes, and usually some type of gravey (sauce). The only meals that have really contained bread have been sandwiches (not sure if my hosts just didn't eat bread but I didn't miss it). As a side note, if you get a "chicken salad" sandwich (tuna, etc) just know that means that you are getting lettuce, tomato, etc. on the sandwich, not like the "salad" sandwiches we are used to in the US.

P.S. I have pictures a plenty on Snapfish but still getting them a bit more organized. I will add links to the albums as I can for you. You will need to set up a Snapfish account (free) to view the pictures. Be ready, I have already amassed over 1000 pictures.
Julie C.
8/13/2012 12:11:48 pm

I'm glad we got to see a picture of you. Northern Ireland looks beautiful! What amazing views!!!

Reply
dave & annabell (azad)
8/13/2012 06:51:09 pm

was good to meet u and u were the purfect guest :)
looking forward to reading of your futher travels, hope the crossing to
scotland was smooth, we are both thinking of you

Reply
Lisa
8/14/2012 05:56:05 am

It was great to meet you both. You made me feel so comfy and fed me very, very well. I did make the crossing ok and with "trail angels" all along my path (wonder if I should call them something else for a trip like this) I found my way to the train, through the station exchange in Glascow, and to my hostel in Stirling. I'm sure I will write about it in the next post. Keep in touch and hope the next time I come we can make it out on the boat. :)

Reply



Leave a Reply.