This week travel began in Edinburgh, Scotland. I arrived the day after The Fringe Festival had ended. During this month long arts festival, street performers, live shows, musical venues, artists wares, etc. fill the town of Edinburgh. Though the festival was offically over, many street performers and artist booths could still be found as well as the final performances of some of the live shows and without the huge crowds. All along my trip everyone told me how wonderful Edinburgh was and they were not mistaken. Edinburgh is steep in history and has many museums in which you can get that history from various points of view. I spent 3 days in the city but could have filled at least another day or two. I will warn everyone that Edinburgh is built on a hill so there are a log of ups and downs (would be the perfect place to train for the AT). Since this was my last stop in Scotland I did try the haggis and was not really impressed but nor was I disgusted.

For the Harry Potter fans that follow my blog, there is much attributed to the novels in the Edinburgh area. J.K. Rowlings spent time at the Elephant Shop Cafe where she wrote her notes about a boy wizard on napkins. In a nearby graveyard many names that are within the novels can be found, even Tom Riddle. The private school behind that same graveyard gave inspiration to the 4 houses of Hogwarts and just walking through the streets, one can definitely get a feel for Diagon Alley and Hogsmeade, not to mention the HUGE banks that could have been inspiration for Gringots. I would definitely recommend Edinbrugh for anyone wishing to make a Harry Potter odessy tour.

While in Edinburgh I made a new friend from Shanghai, Tracy. Tracy (her Anglo name) is a 34 year old woman who just quit her position and took a month long holiday to the UK and was heading back home to look for a new job. I hope she made it home safely and wish her luck in job hunting.

With my Scotland tour wrapped up, I headed to England with York being my first stop. York is fairly small but chock full of character! The two "must see" things are the York Minster and the Chocolate Experience. I would also recommend taking a walk around the old city walls as well as wandering around the streets. As it happened I was there on market day, as if there was not enough shopping in York, the market was the icing on the cake! Fresh fruits, veggies, breads, eggs, meat, as well as crafts and clothes could be found. It was nice to have this option instead of the local grocery store.

I made another new friend in York, Eve (not her real name again). Eve is from Taiwan and was scouting out various towns and their Universities to complete her graduate work. She is majoring in Women's Studies and hopes to help bring about change in her native country. She too was heading home and I know she will be happy to see her family again.
From York I headed to Manchester. I have to admit, I was not planning on going to Manchester but one of my roommates in York LOVED it so much, that it sounded like a place I should check out. My first impressions of Manchester were not very good. It is a much larger city and has a different vibe than the last places I have been recently. There is a lot of clubbing going on and the surface seems to cater to the partying crowd. After getting through the top layers, one can find that Manchester does have a lot to offer. My favorite things were the Peoples Museum, the Museum of Science and Industry, and the John Ryland Library (made to look like a gothic church but built as a library) - all free to the public. I also went through the football (soccer) museum because if you are in Manchester, you just have to do it! (free as well)

Edinburgh Photos Here
Northumberland Photos Here
York Photos Here
Manchester Photos Here
The weeks are now starting to fly by! Two weeks ago I wondered if I could really be away from "real life" for a year, if that was too long to be gone; that perhaps I should cut the trip off around 6 months. This week I wonder if a year will be enough. I give my sole to the universe and trust that it will help guide me to where I need to be, when I need to be there and that I will know when the time is right.
Senny
9/3/2012 12:06:20 am

I have been waiting for your update. At last lol. I loved Edinburgh. So full of history, I hope to go back.
York is one of my favorite places. Very special place.
Manchester I was not really impressed with. Just had a different feel than York I guess.
Love reading the blogs. Hope to see pictures soon.
keep safe Lisa.

Reply
Lisa
9/3/2012 05:33:15 am

I have to agree with you Semny, Manchester was not my favorite; however, it did grow on me a bit.

Reply
dave & annabell (azad)
9/3/2012 10:06:45 pm

glad to see u still enjoying ur trek... u missed out the castle that is
used in harry potter as hogwarts school.. its alnwick castle about 60
miles south of edinburgh in northumberland its one of the few remaining inhabited castles in the uk the duke of northumberland lives there it would have been worth a visit but theres not much else there except the exeptional cenery
carry on treking keep safe dave and annabell

Reply
Lisa
9/4/2012 03:10:09 am

I actually went there. I guess I cut that paragraph and didn't realize.

Reply
christine
9/6/2012 05:28:58 pm

Lisa, what a journey! Thanks for inviting me to "ride" along, from my front porch, which if you should ever on your journey round the world come by you are always welcome.

Reply
Lisa
9/6/2012 05:37:46 pm

@ Christine: I will be sure to drop by the next time I am in the area. I passed right by your house (well the exit) in June but I was in my way to see my new grand baby and was with others. I hated I didn't get any time to visit with you then. I am glad you are enjoying.

Reply
Roxy
9/10/2012 01:42:24 am

Raelyn quite enjoyed your updates! We were a couple weeks behind so read the last two at once. The whole time she was commenting (lots of "oooooo" "ahhhhhahhh"). Glad your trip is going so well! Raelyn can hold her head up now and has discovered her feet! Can't wait to read the next one! Oh and Raelyn says "Ahuuuuuu!"

Reply
Wouter
9/10/2012 02:22:17 am

I am sure that you will find a year to be too short :)

Reply
Nana
9/14/2012 08:58:17 am

@Roxy: I am glad you are both enjoying it. All my love back to you and Raelyn.

Reply
Lisa
9/14/2012 08:59:42 am

@ Wouter: The weeks are going by quickly, that's for sure.

Reply
Gage
9/16/2012 02:17:15 am

I have seen your blogs and your videos I love them. love you and miss you Nana <3

Reply
Camdyn
9/16/2012 02:20:21 am

Hi Nana!!! When are you going to be back? I love you and miss you! Have lots of fun while you are gone and I hope no shark eats you.

Reply
Kristen
9/16/2012 02:24:29 am

Hey Mom!!! Have been busy and thought I missed blogs but see I didn't! YAY!! The boys look forward to reading your blogs. Gage always asks if you have any new videos lol.. I can see videos are a hit with the boys. Camdyn was upset because I had to type what he said. And I typed it verbatim. Even the shark part lol. Think Gavin might be sending you a message later. I am glad you are having a great time and seeing all the beauties of the world. Miss you and Love you!!!!

Reply
Gavin
9/16/2012 02:32:18 am

Hey NANA I hope you don't meet a bear.I love you.....................................

Reply
Kristen
9/16/2012 02:34:30 am

So I asked Camdyn why he mentioned the shark. He said that there is a King Shark who is the only one who can come on land. And this King Shark is looking for you. I guess the Queen must be hungry lol. Oi the imagination on these kids.

Reply
Nana
9/16/2012 03:21:33 am

@ Gage: Miss you too! Hope school is going well for you.

Reply
Nana
9/16/2012 03:23:08 am

@ Camdyn: I will be on the look out for sharks! Love you!

Reply
Mom
9/16/2012 03:24:28 am

@ Kristen: I hope to get caught up soon. I was on a sailboat last week so had no wifi. Love you all!

Reply
Nana
9/16/2012 03:25:18 am

@ Gavin: No bears where I am now. Love you!

Reply
gage
9/16/2012 05:20:08 am

School is going good.

Reply
Kristen
9/16/2012 05:25:57 am

Sailboat sounds very nice!!! Can't wait to read more about your travels and journey!!!! Kids are doing well in school and loving their new sitter!!! They are starting this new after school program three days a week to help them with anything they are lacking in. Camdyn is having a little trouble with sounds and writing so am hoping this may help him. Setting the boys up for eye appointments soon. This should be fun and interesting to say the least lol. Love You

Reply
Ronen
9/17/2012 09:29:04 am

I had some catching up to do on reading of your journey. For you, a year of what may not be considered 'real life' but is more like 'really living', will not only be possible, but a very fitting portion of your journey. Memories that will last far beyond the days when you are done. I just hope bronnie can make it the rest of the year in whatever box he was shipped in :)

Reply
Shawn
9/22/2012 11:55:26 pm

All, Please put your intentions out to Bronie Bears safe return. It appears he is on walk about and has yet to arrive, he maybe following his Mom's example... :)

Reply
Julie
9/24/2012 12:31:24 pm

Where are you? We haven't heard from you so Mark and I were making sure you are o.k. Update asap please!

Reply
Maggie
9/25/2012 12:55:10 am

Enjoyed reading the blog, when are you going to update. How is Holland looks wet over there. Where are you off to next?.

Reply
Senny
9/25/2012 10:53:56 am

How is it going I keep waiting for an update. I have yet to see any videos or pictures. Guess I don't know where to look. Hope you are doing well. Not sure where you were going next. hugss

Reply
Lisa
9/25/2012 06:54:27 pm

@ Ronen: As always, wise words from my wiseman. Thank you Ron!

@ Shawn: Bronnie always wanted to go on his own adventures without me. I guess he is fulfilling his own dreams. If needed, I can let him go into the world on his own, I trust he will find his way where he needs to be.

@ Julie, Mark & Senny: Posted, in part.

@ Senny: Snapfish is still giving me troubles, hopefully I can get the links to the blogs before I loose use of a computer 'fingerscrossed. At the very least, once Snapfish is cooperating, I will send you an e-mail with a link to all the pics.
@ Maggie: Will update as I go, when I can. For safety reasons, I don't post where I am going next, only where I have been. :)

Reply
Senny
9/25/2012 09:15:25 pm

Good to hear from you. Was getting worried as last I heard was Manchester.
glad to hear you are still trucking along. Think of you all the time.
Take care and blessings and strength to you. :)

Reply



Leave a Reply.