My passport has returned home today!  I run my fingers across the India visa affixed in my passport.  The dream is quickly becoming a reality. Less than 3 months before I leave the known and step into the unknown.

In the contradiction of fear and excitement, I work on packing the belongings I wish to keep. I vow to wrap and pack at least 2 items from my entertainment center daily. More if I am compelled, but never less. To start this project is easy, just 2 items from my collection that I know I want to keep. But as my limitation of 2 boxes fills, what will I decide to cut? What will that criteria be? Will that cut affect the relationship to the person or feeling that is connected with that item? Yes, they are only things and in the grand scheme of it all, the things are nothing significant. The only significance is what I and perhaps others have placed on them.

I faced this similar dilemma when I downsized to my apartment last year. It was a very emotional process, ridding myself of things that held an emotional tie.  20 years of raising children and 20 years of attachment to the memories and emotions meant that an emotional cleansing was needed. Now that over a year has passed, I realize that the cut that was made was only to the object itself. I can still easily recall the memories of camping with my children, soccer games, 4th of July parties, the items are not necessary to bring up those memories.  I ponder finding a new home altogether for my collection.





Leave a Reply.