This blog will bring me up to date and rounds off 2012. :-) I hope each one of you have had a wonderful holiday season and I hope that 2013 is the year it (whatever "it" is for you) happens!

I stayed on at my sister's after the Thanksgiving holiday. The week after Thanksgiving was my birthday and I got to enjoy my first Mexican meal in over 6 months - boy did I miss it! I had to wait a few weeks for the other part to my birthday present as "The Hobbit" did not come out until the 14th and we waited until closer to Christmas so that our parents could enjoy it with us.

The other thing we did for my birthday actually took place the day before my birthday and that was the Miami Herald Hunt. This urban puzzle/treasure hunt took place in about a 6 block radius and was loads of fun! We did not do as well as we would have liked, but we learned a lot and will be better prepared for any future hunts. It all started with an insert in the Miami Herald - if we had realized that we had this insert already at home, we could have read through it all before we headed to the event location. This little paper held clues and a map that we would refer to through the afternoon. We went from station to station to figure out the various puzzles that would ultimately get us to solve the puzzle and hopefully win a cruise on the Carnival Breeze (the ship I took the transatlantic on). Of the 5 clues, we figured 3 out 100% correctly, on another we misunderstood the clue of "finality" for "totality" (so we miscounted), and the other we took a wrong turn and ended up with the incorrect sentence. It was a great event and we had a lot of fun figuring out the puzzles - next time we will do much better now that we have got the taste for it!
Picture
One of the clues from the Miami Herald Hunt 2012
For the next few weeks I piddled around, took some long walks,  read books, saw a few movies, entertained my sister's cats, researched a couple of projects, researched/applied for jobs, did errands around the house, etc. With Christmas soon approaching I decided to hang out at least until the holidays were over. The weather, for the most part, has been wonderful here in sunny Florida. We have had a few days that were chilly, but nothing compared to what it was like in the Netherlands before I left Europe. We enjoyed New Years at home with a nice dinner, watched movies, and watched the fireworks from my sister's dock as we rang in 2013.

Since I had not planned on being back or working until this coming summer, I did not put any real effort into any one area in particular. I wanted to see where the wind would blow me on its own. There were a few gusts throughout the month of December, but no real strong tail wind to set me on my way. As I have not felt that my travels are yet over, I spoke with a few friends about hiking, taking a road trip, doing some other travel related things and in the end, everything fell through on their ends. Clearly my solo travel adventures are not over. Therefore, I will continue traveling, but in the USA for now and the blogging will continue. With the New Year here and my bags pretty well packed, I will be starting with a road trip and may show up on some of your doorsteps with very little notice. ;-)

I am now up to date and the blogging will continue.
Picture
My Florida holiday



Leave a Reply.