It seems I have a following of about 10 onlookers where I do the "stairs" part of my workout. As I make my "laps" around a business complex (U-shaped) near my work the various owners and workers make their daily appearance to cheer me on and have their brief 10 second conversation with me. Things my "fans" have noted this week:
1. "You got your boots on this week!"
2. "You are making the laps a lot quicker than when you started."
3. "Isn't it getting too hot to walk?" (which was said on a day only in the 80's)
4. "I would fall out if I did that." (to "fall out" is southern for pass out)
5. "Keep up the good work."
6. Pantomime of me hoofing it around the complex.

It is encouraging to have "supporters" along my training route and yet it is a bit strange that these strangers have taken to include themselves into my hike. No, they are not training with me, though I have invited them all to do so.  No, they are not, nor will most of them ever hike in the woods. But they all have intertwined themselves into my activity. They have all asked me about my training and about my hike and now, in some fashion, they are taking the hike with me.  I will most likely not see these people again after I head for the hike in the mountains but yet they will join me spiritually on the hike, and most likely on their part, for more than just the 10 days I will actually be hiking since they will not see me when the hike is over. My hiking adventures in their minds will most likely be nothing remotely resembling what will actually occur, yet this spiritual connection will give them a sense of experiencing the hike, though they may never strap on a pair of boots in their entire life. In a similar fashion my friends and co-workers are doing the same for my world tour. This is a burden I gladly take  on for my followers, for life without dreams and having that experience, real or imagined, makes life a bit mundane.
Shawn
6/8/2012 12:59:13 am

I will be happy to help carry some of those on your first leg hiking...
Can't wait!

Reply
Lisa
6/9/2012 03:46:31 am

I can't wait either! A burden shared, in this case, is a burden doubled! Like doublemint - twice the fun!

Reply



Leave a Reply.